COSA Regatta

Fiona Atkinson competes in the Green Division for first-time sailors at the COSA Springtime Regatta in Kelowna on the May long weekend.

Everything appears in place as Kelowna prepares to host the best young sailors from across Western Canada later this summer.

Central Okanagan Sailing Association athletes won 13 medals as host of the 39th annual Springtime Regatta over May long weekend on Okanagan Lake. Nearly 60 boats from across Western Canada competed in nine fleets. 

Devin Rubadeau, regatta organizer and COSA head coach, said it was “heartening” to see such quality of sailing and the strength of the local sailors. 

“Thirteen podium spots were secured by COSA sailors, which bodes well for the coming race season,” he said. “I was particularly impressed by Ava Halperin in the Laser 4.7 fleet, Alizon Littleton in the Radial fleet, and Tyler Rubadeau in the Optimist fleet, who persevered against significant competition and challenging weather conditions to finish with excellent results; 2019 will be an excellent sailing season.” 

The 2019 season will also feature Kelowna hosting the Western Canadian Sailing Championships from July 4-7. Rubadau said he is optimistic Kelowna will welcome at least 150 (and as many as 220) of the top sailors ages 23 and younger.

COSA will be ready to host, and compete, he said.

The COSA regatta is the Interior’s largest dinghy event, and competitors were not disappointed this year with consistent winds contributing to fast-paced racing. 

Halperin won the 4.7 fleet, followed closely by teammates Rory Wiebe and Lauren Grey in second and third, respectively. First in the Optimist fleet and first in the Blue Division was COSA sailor Tyler Rubadeau followed by Max Ramsey and Kyle Wright, also of COSA. 

Rubadeau finished ahead of sailors in the Red Division, which is the oldest age group. Kai Ramsey of COSA was first in the White Division for the youngest sailors. 

COSA’s Fiona Atkinson, Nora Wagner and Logan Wright competed in the Green Division for first-time racers.

Alizon Littleton of COSA was second in the Laser Radial fleet.

The X-Class fleet was won by Andrew Parker and Brenda Bouchette of COSA on their Laser Vago XD. has more details and full results.

Recommended for you