Finalists have been named for the City of Kelowna’s 45th annual civic and community awards.

The date of the awards ceremony is under review because of the COVID-19 pandemic. The city hopes to come up with more details in the coming weeks.

Nominees are:

— Bob Giordano Memorial (coach/sport administrator of the year) — Darcy Rysz, Kelly Hettinga, Ron Koch

— Bryan Couling Memorial Award (athletic team of the year) — KSS Owls AAAA girls volleyball team, KSS Owls girls curling team, Kelowna under-16A ringette elite

— Female Athlete of the Year — Emma Cannan, Madelyn Hettinga, Megan Hart

— Male Athlete of the Year — Cooper Humphreys, Jordan Cheyne, Trevor Brigden

— Female Augie Ciancone Memorial Award (young athlete) — Madelyn Hettinga, Melaina Corrado, Tessa Ivans

— Male Augie Ciancone Memorial Award (young athlete) — Braden White, Matt Hopley, Roan McCarthy

— Champion for the Environment — Friends of Black Mountain Society, Operation Take Two, Treehouse Forest Preschool

— Teen Honour in the Arts — Ava Clark, Rowyn Grenier, Sarah McIntyre

— Honour in the Arts — Erin Scott, Peter MacLeod, Stephen Buck

— Young Citizen of the Year — Abby Kiehlbauch, Kritika Dave, Yvonne Wood

— Fred Macklin and Sarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial Award (citizen of the year) — Al Hildebrandt, Gail Harrison, Robin Jarman

— Corporate Community of the Year Award — Avalon Event Rentals, Prestige Hotels and Resorts, Valley First Credit Union

— Central Okanagan Foundation Volunteer Organization of the Year — Cops for Kids, JCI Kelowna, Project Literacy.

The Young Citizen of the Year finalists will receive funding toward their post-secondary education through the Payton and Dillon Budd Memorial Fund Youth Scholarship. The award recipient will receive $2,000 while each of the two remaining finalists will receive $1,000.

The recipient of the Teen Honour in the Arts award will receive a $500 entrance scholarship to UBC Okanagan, courtesy of the faculty of creative and critical studies.